Should I Take Their Advice?

Back when I read Stephen King’s memoir, I felt very conflicted about the above he offered and what it meant for “lesser writers” (namely, anyone other than himself). In the end, the real lesson to learn was that everyone will and should come to their own conclusions.

The Gotham Writers Workshop put this more eloquently than I can, so I’ll let you follow the link and see for yourself.

Should I Take Their Advice by David Ebenbach

The key takeaway here is very simple and self-explanatory. The hard part is believing it, by which I mean that we need to believe in ourselves and our own capabilities in order for this article to have any real merit. For some of us, that’s the most difficult thing in the world. It’s so much easier to attempt to latch on to someone else’s success by copying their gimmicks, but that’s the point – those gimmicks aren’t the full story of what made that person successful, and they won’t work in the same way for anyone else.

In the end, we have to accept that there is no secret ingredient. But I’m sure I’m not the only one eyeing that dragon scroll anyway.

kung-fu-panda-1

Leave a Reply

