Camp NaNoWriMo!

Writing is hard. Even if you’re a good writer, it can be unbelievably difficult to get new projects started, maintain the motivation to write every day, and finish what you’ve started. This is something I’ve struggled a lot with in the past couple years, and I’m always looking for new ways to motivate myself.

I’ve decided to try something new and sign up for Camp NaNoWriMo. As many people know, NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) is a national event in November in which writers load up on caffeine and push themselves to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days. I completed this challenge in 2010, and it was a challenging exercise in mental discipline.

Camp NaNoWriMo takes place in April and is open to all writing projects, not just novels (I’ll be working on a screenplay). In your Camp profile, you can select what kind of project you want to do, set yourself a word count goal, and choose to join a “cabin” or writing group. This is what drew me in and made me finally decide to sign up. Writing groups are powerful tools that help you increase your productivity by motivating you to impress the other people in your group (or at least, motivate you to not look stupid by slacking off on your goals). Writing groups can be an incredibly helpful atmosphere for improving your accountability, getting and receiving constructive feedback, and connecting with fellow writers.

This is my first year participating in Camp NaNoWriMo, but I’m really looking forward to it. I’d highly recommend it to anyone interested in starting a writing project (and finishing it!). It’s free to join, and you can do it from literally anywhere (thank you internet). There’s still a few days left to sign up, so come join the party!

Leave a Reply

