Tough Love

Today was a bit of a wake-up call. One of many, unfortunately. It takes a while for me to push past what I identify as “the inevitable” to see what more I’m capable of.

Anyway, I burst into tears packing my lunch this morning because I couldn’t bear the thought of going back to my day job. Throughout the day, I couldn’t summon the energy to care about my work. I felt like I was trapped in a petting zoo, when I know I could be capable of so much more if I just had the courage to pursue it.

When I got home, I read this article.

How’s that for a motivational kick in the face?

Every now and then, we all need some tough love from the right source to break us out of our respective funks. And the thing is, even though I can’t help but feel that Sophie Lizard’s advice would work perfectly for someone else, at the same time I have to ask myself, why? Because my parents wanted a business major who could speak five languages? Well, good luck to them, because they won’t get that from any of their three kids.

There’s no reason you or I can’t be successful in what we want to do. If you’re anything like me, the biggest thing holding us back is ourselves. Well, and the economy, but that didn’t stop Jon Morrow, who is now the very successful blogging mastermind behind Copyblogger.

We can do this. You and me. Whatever it is you want to do, you’re going to do it. And you’re going to start today. If I have to, then so do you. As Alex always tells me, you’ll never accomplish anything if you don’t try.

Leave a Reply

