Friday Fun — Testing your story’s opening

Good advice! Openings are very important. I know I won’t feel too compelled to read something if I’m not grabbed from the start. I especially appreciate Julie Hennrikus’s advice. I have a feeling I’ll have to do a lot of cutting, myself, once my novel gets to the revision phase.

Live to Write - Write to Live

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: How do you test your story’s opening?

wendy-shotWendy Thomas: First of all, I sit on it. After I write my story, I give it time away to do a little bit of maturing. Because I’ve got tech writing in my blood and I feel comfortable with plotting (as opposed to pantsing) once the story and I have both had time to settle down, I go over the beginning with a checklist that looks very much like the rubrics you had to use when you writing high school papers.

  • Is there a hook?
  • Have I introduced the hero?
  • Is there conflict?
  • Have I created tension?
  • Is there too much back story?
  • Have I grounded…

View original post 443 more words

Leave a Reply

